Platform To Learn Everything


The Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISERs) are a group of premier science education and research institutes in India. These institutions have been declared by an Act of Parliament as Institutes of National Importance, and are intended to be the leading institutes in the country in the field of basic sciences. The institutes were created by the Government of India, through the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), under The National Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (an amendment of the National Institutes of Technology Act, 2007), which was passed by the  Rajya Sabha  on 30 April 2012. Seven IISERs have been established across the country, namely IISER Kolkata in West Bengal, IISER Pune in Maharashtra, IISER Mohali in Punjab, IISER Bhopal in Madhya Pradesh, IISER Thiruvananthapuram in Kerala, IISER Tirupati in Andhra Pradesh and IISER Berhampur in Odisha. Together with the IISER at Berhampur, Odisha that commenced in 2016, another IISER in Nagaland was also announced in the 2015 Budget. The financial outlay for each IISER is around ₹5 billion (US$72 million) for the first five years. IISERs are envisioned to be unique institutes in Basics Sciences.


Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Kolkata was functioning from the temporary campus at Mohanpur, a temporary arrangement within the campus of  Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya  previously and now almost all the labs have been shifted to its permanent campus, over 250 acres (1.0 km 2 ) of land at Haringhata, Kalyani near Kolkata.

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune has started functioning from the National Chemical Laboratory Pune campus. Its campus has mostly been developed. The labs, lecture hall complexes, main buildings, and the hostels have been set up in the permanent campus.

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali has started functioning from the Mahatma Gandhi State Institute of Public Administration complex in Sector 26 Chandigarh. The foundation stone for its permanent campus was laid in September 2006 by the Prime Minister of India, Manmohan Singh. It started functioning at its permanent campus at Sector 81, Mohali.

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhopal started functioning from the ITI Gas Rahat Building Govindpura Bhopal. The Institute was moved to its main campus in Bhauri in August 2012.

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram started functioning recently from its own permanent campus at  Vithura , which is 40 km from Thiruvananthapuram city. Earlier, it was functioning from a temporary campus at the College of Engineering, Trivandrum.

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Tirupati started functioning from a transient campus at Mangalam, Tirupati about 7km from the city in 2015. The permanent campus has been planned to be constructed at Yerpedu, about a half-an-hour away from the city in a plot of 250 acres (1 sq.km) near the foothills of the Saptagiri ranges and Phase-1 of the construction is to expected to be completed by 2019.

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Berhampur commenced in Odisha in 2016. It is functioning from a transit campus from 2016.